

Did you know?

Not all materials can be recycled since markets for the final product have to exist, and sometimes it is too expensive in either money or in resources to go through the steps to collect, transport, sort, clean and process the items put into a bin. That is why it is important to look at other options first before recycling.

The Four R's of Sustainability

REDUCE consumption by limiting unnecessary purchases. You will save money while making a better choice for the planet.

REUSE goods as much as possible to give them a longer life. Donate items when in good condition but no longer of use to you.

RECYCLE what you can. Know which transfer station accepts recycle items such as electronics, tires, and oil.

RECOVER what you can. Composting at home is a great way to supplement your garden soil.

Change is coming!

Ag Plastic Jug Recycling

Ag plastic jug recycling will no longer be available at the Border Seed Cleaning and Sunshine Seed Cleaning facilities after December 31, 2024. Recycling of these products will be available through the ag retailers instead.

Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR)

Created by the Government of Alberta, this system is intended to encourage businesses to find new ways to recycle materials and reduce waste at the source. This would mean the costs for the recycling system will be accounted for in the cost of a product—not in property taxes.

Implementation of this program in the County of Warner is expected in 2026, at which time new methods to recycle paper, packaging, single-use products, and household hazardous products such as batteries and corrosive liquids may become available.

The changes will be overseen by the Alberta Recycling Management Authority (ARMA). For more information visit their website at <u>albertarecycling.ca</u>.





Responsible Waste Management

For A Better Future



Questions?

Contact the County of Warner Administration office admin@warnercounty.ca 403-642-3635

warnercounty.ca

County Transfer Stations

The County runs three transfer stations which collect different types of waste depending on the facility. For more detail see the Waste Transfer Station policy at <u>warnercounty.ca</u>.

New Dayton Transfer Station

SE 32-05-18 W4

Saturday 9:00 a.m.—5:00 p.m. Every 1st Tuesday 9:00 a.m.—5:00 p.m. (trial basis for 2024)

Types of waste accepted:

- Domestic garbage (not including toxic or hazardous waste)
- White goods (household appliances)
- Burnable materials
- Metal
- Tires
- Electronics
- Paint
- Oil



Masinasin Waste Station

NW 27-2-13 W4

24-hour access

Types of waste accepted:

 Domestic garbage (not including toxic or hazardous waste, or yard waste such as grass clippings and fallen branches)



Wrentham Transfer Station

NW 23-6-17 W4

Friday 11:00 a.m. —7:00 p.m.

Types of waste accepted:

- Domestic garbage (not including toxic or hazardous waste)
- Burnable materials

Grain Bag Recycling and Twine Recycling

Available at the County of Warner Agricultural Service Board Shop. Please contact the office to schedule a drop-off at 403-642-2255.

Chief Mountain Regional Solid Waste Services Commission

The Chief Mountain Regional Solid Waste Services Commission (CMRSWSC) controls the landfill site where local transfer station garbage eventually ends up. The CMRSWSC is directed by the municipal members, including the County of Warner.

If you have questions about the CMRSWSC or the types of waste accepted at the landfill, visit the website at chiefmountainsolidwaste.ca.



Other Transfer Stations within the County

The towns and villages in the County of Warner are all part of the CMRSWSC. You can drop off your waste at these transfer stations according to the regulations and hours set by the controlling municipality.

- Milk River/Coutts Waste Transfer Station
- Raymond Waste Transfer Station
- Stirling Waste Transfer Station
- Warner Waste Transfer Station